Australian TV show ‘Mystery Road’ created by Michaeley O’Brien, Steven McGregor Kodie Bedford and Tim Lee, might be renewed for a season 3 very soon. The show airs on ABC TV Australia and has become super hit with its neo-western crime genre. Season 2 of the show premiered on ABC on 19 April 2020. Rachel Perkins directed the first season and the second season was directed by Warwick Thornton and Wayne Blair.

Release Date 

Mystery Road has so far received an amazing response from the audience. Also, the show has won some awards and accolades namely:

  • The Best Television Drama Series in the 8th AACTA Awards in 2018
  • Best director in a television drama series- Rachel Perkins-Australian Directors’ Guild Awards in 2018

Further, the show has also received a decent rating of 7.5 on IMDB’s website.

So far the makers of the show have not officially announced a renewal of the same, there are only speculations of the show returning for a season 3 that too in 2022.

What Is The Show All About?

As mentioned before the show is Neo western crime mystery and a spin-off of films ‘Mystery Road’ and ‘Goldstone’ which are again crime thrillers.

The show revolves around an indigenous detective named Jay Swan along with his partner solves cases in the Outbacks of Australia. In doing so they come across kidnappings of young farmworkers. He along with police officer Emma James unravel unscrupulous activities in the outback areas.

In season 2 Jay and his sidekick track down a drug racket. During this solve, they come across some brutal murders. Another aspect of the story talks about a Swedish archaeologist who wants to dig up certain lands for artifacts, but is stopped by the natives as they do not want an outsider digging up their lands.


The show features Aaron Pedersen as detective Jay Swan and Judy Davis as Police Sergeant Emma James in main protagonist roles. Other characters include:

  • Deborah Mailman as Kerry Thompson
  • Wayne Blair as Larry Dime
  • Aaron McGrath as Marley Thompson
  • Tasma Walton as Mary Swan
  • Madeleine Madden as Crystal Swan
  • Meyne Wyatt as Cedric Thompson
  • Colin Friels as Tony Ballantyne
  • Rohan Mirchandaney as David Sharma
  • Anthony Hayes as Ryan Muller

For more updates on release dates stay tuned to Phil Sports News!