The 2020–21 season of the Indian Super League (ISL) will be the seventh edition of the ISL, which is
considered to be the top professional football league in India. The season is scheduled to run from
November 2020 to March 2021 and due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic in India, the matches
will be hosted behind-closed-doors across three venues in Goa.
Kolkata’s representative in the ISL, ATK won the previous years’ championship. ATK defeated
Chennaiyin FC 3-1, with the help of a brace from Spaniard Javi Hernandez, in the 2020 ISL final in
March, in front of the empty stands at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa. However, in July 2020,
ATK was merged with the I-League veterans Mohun Bagan to form ATK Mohun Bagan. FC Goa is the
defending winners of the League Winners Shield.
What’s New in ISL 20-21?
On 27 September 2020, another I-league veteran, East Bengal was added to the league as an
expansion team and thus became the 11th team in the ISL. Now known as SC East Bengal, a flashy
new prefix coming along with a new investor.
Among the few changes brought about this year compared to the last, includes the increase in the
maximum squad size the clubs are allowed to register from 25 to 35 players because of giving the
youngsters more opportunities.
The clubs should have at least six and not more than seven foreign players in their squad, out of
which one of them must belong to an AFC (Asian Football Confederation) member association
nation. Additionally, for the promotion of grassroot footballers, at least three developmental players
(born after 1st January 2000) must be included in the squad.
All ISL 2020–21 season matches will be played behind-closed-doors across three venues in Goa
which includes the Fatorda Stadium in Margao, the GMC Athletic Stadium in Bambolim, and the Tilak
Maidan Stadium in Vasco da Gama.
When does ISL 20-21 kick-off?
The seventh edition of the Indian Super League (ISL) will kick off on November 20 with defending
champions ATK-Mohun Bagan locking horns with Kerala Blasters in the opening match at the GMC
Stadium in Bambolim.
Among the blockbuster matches, the first Kolkata Derby between ATK-Mohun Bagan and SC East
Bengal will be played on November 27 at the Tilak Maidan Stadium. ATK-Mohun Bagan will face
Bengaluru FC at the Fatorda Stadium on December 21. FC Goa is scheduled to begin its campaign
against Bengaluru FC on November 22 at the Jawahar Lal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda. The league
phase of the tournament will commence from November and run till February. The schedule for the
knockout stages is yet to be finalized.