How to Delete and Disable Location History in Google Maps
How to Delete and Disable Location History in Google Maps

Disable Location History in Google Maps, How Delete Location History in Google Maps, How to set auto-delete Location History in Google Maps

If you have Google Maps on your smartphone which is obvious in every Android smartphone, there are chances that Google has stored your location a lot more than you realize.

Google said that if you have Location History turned on in the app, they will periodically log your precise location to your history, even when you are not using the app. By default, the feature is turned off but there are several services from Google that need access to the location history and once you have enabled it, the company will start collecting data.

If you don’t want to share your location history with Google, you can turn it off on your Android smartphone. Given that it’s an account-level setting, once disabled, it will not collect data from any of the devices connected to your account.

However, you can delete your entire location history or can delete specific instances, and can also disable the location history. Here’s how you can delete, and disable your location history on Google Maps on your Android smartphone.

How to Delete and Disable Location History in Google Maps?

Disable Location History in Google Maps

  • Open the Google Maps App on your smartphone.
  • Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner.
  • Select Your Data in Maps option.
  • Google will now take you to Activity controls in your Google Account.
  • Scroll down and click on Location History.
  • Here you have to toggle the Location History off to disable it.
  • Toggle off the Location History, and then click on Pause.
  • Done, now your location history will be disabled for your account.

Google Maps has the option to delete all your location history. If you want to delete it, here’s how you can do it on your smartphone.

Delete Your History in Google Maps

  • Open the Google Maps App on your smartphone.
  • Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner.
  • Select Your Data in Maps option.
  • Google will now take you to Activity controls in your Google Account.
  • Scroll down and click on Location History.
  • Now, click on Manage activity.
  • Click on the three-dots menu in the top-right corner.
  • Select Settings and Privacy.
  • Scroll down, and select Delete all Location History to delete all your location history.
  • Click on checkbox and finally click on Delete.
  • You can also delete the history of a particular time. To do this select Delete Location History Range after selecting Settings and Privacy.
  • Select the start and end date, and click on Continue.
  • Finally, click on the checkbox and tap on Delete.

Google Maps also has an auto-delete option by feature it will automatically delete your data. Here’s how you can enable it.

Auto-delete your location history

  • Open the Google Maps App on your smartphone.
  • Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner.
  • Select Your Data in Maps option.
  • Google will now take you to Activity controls in your Google Account.
  • Scroll down and click on Location History.
  • Click on the Auto-delete option.
  • Now, tap on Auto-delete activity older than and select an option from the drop-down menu.
  • Finally, click on Next.

Conclusion

So, these are the ways by which you can delete and disable location history on Google Maps. I hope you find this article helpful; if you did, share it with your friends and family.

For more articles and updates, join our Telegram Group and be a member of the DailyTechByte family. Also, follow us on Google News, Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook for quick updates.