dcsimg
Novice: Getting Started
4 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   tom_carrier
Posted On:   Monday, August 26, 2002 08:06 AM

Hi All. I am new to Ant. I am using WindowsME (maybe my first problem). I have download the Ant1-5.zip file, and unzipped it. I have set my classpath=c:Ant in;c:Antlib. I have set my path to c:Ant in. When I type Ant from the Dos command line I get a list of Java Options as if I typed "java" at the command line instead of Ant. What's up with that ? Shouid I be typing Java Ant? Are Ant and DOS together not a good idea ? Is it better to run Ant under Cygwin ? I do not see an install or a setup.exe, is there something further that I need to do to get Ant running ?    More>>

Hi All.

I am new to Ant.

I am using WindowsME (maybe my first problem).

I have download the Ant1-5.zip file, and unzipped it.

I have set my classpath=c:Ant in;c:Antlib.

I have set my path to c:Ant in.

When I type Ant from the Dos command line I get a list of Java Options as if I typed "java" at the command line instead of Ant.

What's up with that ? Shouid I be typing Java Ant?

Are Ant and DOS together not a good idea ?

Is it better to run Ant under Cygwin ?

I do not see an install or a setup.exe, is there something
further that I need to do to get Ant running ?

Thank you

Tom

<<Less

Re: Novice: Getting Started

Posted By:   Roseanne_Zhang  
Posted On:   Tuesday, August 27, 2002 02:40 PM

I run ant in dos/cygwin/unix, no problems. All you need to set are ANT_HOME and JAVA_HOME, then add %ANT_HOME%/bin into your path. Yes, foward slash even in windows. Only place you cannot use foward slash is inside dos console window itself.

Posted By:   Roseanne_Zhang  
Posted On:   Tuesday, August 27, 2002 02:39 PM