How to test methods that throw exceptions
4 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Roshani_Pandey
Posted On:   Monday, July 1, 2002 03:22 PM

Hi, I am very new to Junit. So, my problem might sound very basic. But I am totally clueless here...
I am trying to test this method that throws a NullPointerException. Can you test such methods with junit? If I can't test the return value of the method, is there anything else about the method that I can test to ensure that the method is fine?

Re: How to test methods that throw exceptions

Posted By:   Roshani_Pandey  
Posted On:   Tuesday, July 2, 2002 10:27 AM

Actually, the problem is more like this: There is this protected method that I have to test that uses a class variable that has been set to null. However, the variable is set to something else in the public methods that appear prior to the method that I am testing. My problem is that I don't know how to set the variable in the method that I am testing so that it is not null and doesn't give me a NullPointerException. Please help.

Posted By:   Anonymous  
Posted On:   Tuesday, July 2, 2002 02:24 AM

If you want to test whether an exception is thrown I recommend the FAQ of JUnit (as part of the downloaded zip) "How do I implement a test case for a thrown exception?".

The FAQ-Online is also a good resource. Especially How do I test a method that doesn't return anything? is the right for you.

Posted By:   Anonymous  
Posted On:   Monday, July 1, 2002 11:45 PM

What is the method supposed to do? Can you test for this effect?

There seems to be the widespread misconception that you have a one to one mapping of tests to methods. That isn't true - a test doesn't necessarily tests a single method but a small usage scenario for an object or even the collaboration of some objects.

For example, one test for the HashMap class could look like

HashMap map = new HashMap()
Object key = new Object();
Object value = new Object();
map.put(key, value);