dcsimg
Braindead AWT performance question re: eventLoop, thread priority, application performance
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Luke_Gerke
Posted On:   Thursday, January 10, 2002 10:58 AM

Hi. I apologize in advance for this stupid question. I just can't find an answer for it elsewhere..... Maybe I've misread the problem entirely. I'm new to java and threads and AWT. I just wrote my first application, and off the bat it runs slow. I ran hprof, and the first thing I noticed was that sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.eventLoop accounts for conspicuously near 50% of the samples. I was wondering: is this due to two threads fighting for time? And assuming it is the event monitoring thread fighting with my "main" thread, is there anything I can do about it? I assume most single threaded applications (with another thread for the AWT gui) don't have to spend 50% of time in the gui, do they? Thanks for your h   More>>

Hi. I apologize in advance for this stupid question. I just can't find an answer for it elsewhere..... Maybe I've misread the problem entirely.

I'm new to java and threads and AWT. I just wrote my first application, and off the bat it runs slow. I ran hprof, and the first thing I noticed was that sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.eventLoop accounts for conspicuously near 50% of the samples. I was wondering: is this due to two threads fighting for time? And assuming it is the event monitoring thread fighting with my "main" thread, is there anything I can do about it? I assume most single threaded applications (with another thread for the AWT gui) don't have to spend 50% of time in the gui, do they?

Thanks for your help, and sorry if I'm way off.

Luke Gerke

<<Less

Re: Braindead AWT performance question re: eventLoop, thread priority, application performance

Posted By:   Scott_Stanchfield  
Posted On:   Sunday, January 27, 2002 07:02 AM

You are a bit off... ;)