Database Access Layer
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Barney_Boisvert
Posted On:   Wednesday, November 21, 2001 08:52 AM

I'm new both to Struts and JSP/Servlets, although I've been using Java for several years. I'm somewhat perplexed as to how to set up the database access layer in my 'playing around' application. I found the sample app that came with Struts to be very helpful in all respects, except for this one, as the 'database' interactions were inside the Action classes, rather than encapsulated in a database access Bean. According to the accompanying docs (and my intuition), this "should be considered a bug in the example application." I'm wondering what's the best way to build in a database access layer. It seems to me that it should be in an application Bean, encapsulating all the database specific stuff like connection p   More>>

I'm new both to Struts and JSP/Servlets, although I've been using Java for several years. I'm somewhat perplexed as to how to set up the database access layer in my 'playing around' application.

I found the sample app that came with Struts to be very helpful in all respects, except for this one, as the 'database' interactions were inside the Action classes, rather than encapsulated in a database access Bean. According to the accompanying docs (and my intuition), this "should be considered a bug in the example application."

I'm wondering what's the best way to build in a database access layer. It seems to me that it should be in an application Bean, encapsulating all the database specific stuff like connection parameters, and things, but Struts already has it's data-source stuff to do basic connection pooling for it.