dcsimg
Connecting to a Oracle 8 DB with JDBC?
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Martin_Croteau
Posted On:   Monday, July 16, 2001 06:47 PM

Hi! I'm a computer programming university student and I've been having problems using JDBC. While I was doing a database course, the teacher gave us this line to use to do an assignment: String Url = "jdbc:oracle:thin@arabica.cafe.uqam.ca:1521:08db". That Url worked perfectly to access the university servers (arabica.cafe.uqam.ca) and access the database wich was on them. Now, I'm currently doing another assignment in a completly different course and I have to create a new DB. Because it's the summer, I haven't been able to get hold of the teacher wich gave me the Url in the first place. Also because It's summer, I can't put my DB on the university servers so I have to put it on my home comput   More>>

Hi!

I'm a computer programming university student and I've been having problems using JDBC.

While I was doing a database course, the teacher gave us this line to use to do an assignment: String Url = "jdbc:oracle:thin@arabica.cafe.uqam.ca:1521:08db".

That Url worked perfectly to access the university servers (arabica.cafe.uqam.ca) and access the database wich was on them. Now, I'm currently doing another assignment in a completly different course and I have to create a new DB. Because it's the summer, I haven't been able to get hold of the teacher wich gave me the Url in the first place. Also because It's summer, I can't put my DB on the university servers so I have to put it on my home computer.

If you could help me, I would appreciate it. Here's what I want to do: I installed Oracle 8 on my home computer and I would like to use a modified version of the previous line to access the database I created. Arabica.cafe.uqam.ca are the server from school, how can I change the line above so my Java program accesses the database on my computer instead of trying to access my university's servers?