dcsimg
Applets / Data Access / RMI
0 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Rich_Croft
Posted On:   Monday, December 1, 2008 09:29 AM

Hi, I'm new to Applet programming but I'm a fairly experienced Java and J2EE developer. I basically want an applet that can run in a browser that can access DAO style services on the web server that provides the applet. My plan is currently to use RMI although I'm open to suggestions/best practises and I am aware that I might be trying to achieve something isn't possible. I have 3 projects tomcat webapp - contains DAO and RMI Server implementations. on startup registers RMI server using java.rmi.registry.Registry, includes shared jar in classpath applet - contains JApplet extension, tries to pull Server out of RMI Registry and execute methods shared - cont   More>>

Hi,

I'm new to Applet programming but I'm a fairly experienced Java and J2EE developer.

I basically want an applet that can run in a browser that can access DAO style services on the web server that provides the applet.

My plan is currently to use RMI although I'm open to suggestions/best practises and I am aware that I might be trying to achieve something isn't possible.

I have 3 projects

tomcat webapp - contains DAO and RMI Server implementations. on startup registers RMI server using java.rmi.registry.Registry, includes shared jar in classpath

applet - contains JApplet extension, tries to pull Server out of RMI Registry and execute methods

shared - contains RMI Server interface and Serializable DTOs/POJOs (whatever were calling them these days) that I want to transfer from applet to webserver and vise versa.

My current development environment is RAD6 using tomcat5.0 and JDK1.4. Although I will be shifting onto NetBeans or Eclipse and Java5 or Java6 in the near future. Any recommendations for this kind of project?