How can I create a generic EB independent of database schema ?
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Sathya_Sekar
Posted On:   Wednesday, August 18, 2004 09:24 PM

Hi, I am a newbie to EJBs - so please pardon me if this is very naive. We are working on porting an existing proprietry 3-tier application to a J2ee environment. One of the features of that model was one where we could save a huge data (which cannot be accodated in a VARCHAR column) in teh database by splitting the data into chunks. For example, take a Employee database. There is a column in the Employee table called Comments which requires to save user details. The max size of a VARCHAR column in Oracle is 4000 characters. So to accomodate longer texts, we create a child table called EmployeeComments with columns : Column Name : Column Type EmployeeID : integer    More>>

Hi,

I am a newbie to EJBs - so please pardon me if this is very naive.

We are working on porting an existing proprietry 3-tier application to a J2ee environment. One of the features of that model was one where we could save a huge data (which cannot be accodated in a VARCHAR column) in teh database by splitting the data into chunks.

For example, take a

Employee
database. There is a column in the
Employee
table called
Comments
which requires to save user details. The max size of a VARCHAR column in Oracle is 4000 characters. So to accomodate longer texts, we create a child table called
EmployeeComments
with columns :

Column Name : Column Type
EmployeeID : integer
Comments : Varchar

So a 12000 character long comments would span 3 rows in this table. When data is to be displayed, we accumulate data across all rows for the EmployeeID.