Lookbehind and other regex features
0 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Eric_Mahurin
Posted On:   Tuesday, July 13, 2004 10:45 AM

I'm a ANTLR beginner, but a long time perl expert of perl and its regular expressions - including the constructs that have embedded code. Is there any way to accomplish lookbehind in the lexer or parser? This is the main thing that I don't immediately see how to do in ANTLR that I could in Perl's regex's. Here is a complete list of things easily done in Perl's regex's that would be nice to have in ANTLR: (...){m,n} : Match at least m times and at most n. Also make sure that m and n can be at least integer variables of the target language. n=-1 could represent infinity so that {0,-1} means * and {1,-1} means + ({0,1} means ?). m=-1 could be used to force this alternative to fail- like a semantic pred   More>>

I'm a ANTLR beginner, but a long time perl expert of perl and its regular expressions - including the constructs that have embedded code.

Is there any way to accomplish lookbehind in the lexer or parser? This is the main thing that I don't immediately see how to do in ANTLR that I could in Perl's regex's.

Here is a complete list of things easily done in Perl's regex's that would be nice to have in ANTLR:

(...){m,n} : Match at least m times and at most n. Also make sure that m and n can be at least integer variables of the target language. n=-1 could represent infinity so that {0,-1} means * and {1,-1} means + ({0,1} means ?). m=-1 could be used to force this alternative to fail- like a semantic predicate. I realize that these features should be doable now with semantic predicates watching a counter within a * loop, but a more concise way would be nice - and not as tied to the target language.