What are logical fonts in Java?

Joe Sam Shirah

Java recognizes five font names: Serif, Sans-serif, Monospaced, Dialog and DialogInput along with four font styles: plain, bold, italic, and bolditalic regardless of platform. These are not real ( or "physical" ) fonts, but are standard names mapped to physical fonts that are known to be installed by default on the particular platform. The mapping is done in the font.properties series of files in the lib/fonts subdirectory of the JDK/JRE.