Can we develop in SOAP an activeX web component
2 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Karthik_Nataraj
Posted On:   Monday, September 16, 2002 08:56 AM

Hi All, I am new to SOAP and beginner in VB. I did some examples of SOAP provided with the SOAP tool kit. I designed an activeX component (VB OCX) and embeded in our tool. But this is not supported by few browsers. So our client want to redesign or completely discard the activeX component and go for SOAP. But according to what I studied SOAP seems to be a middle tier protocol that interprets messages to and from applications. My activeX component has standard VB objects like "command button", "text boxes", "Slider control", ... and mainly "WebBrowser control". This activeX control I packaged into a CAB file and called in the html files with the object tab. So this activeX is also to be   More>>

Hi All,

I am new to SOAP and beginner in VB. I did some examples of SOAP provided with the SOAP tool kit. I designed an activeX component (VB OCX) and embeded in our tool. But this is not supported by few browsers. So our client want to redesign or completely discard the activeX component and go for SOAP. But according to what I studied SOAP seems to be a middle tier protocol that interprets messages to and from applications.

My activeX component has standard VB objects like "command button", "text boxes", "Slider control", ... and mainly "WebBrowser control". This activeX control I packaged into a CAB file and called in the html files with the object tab. So this activeX is also to be signed to be safe and it does require some modification's in the client's browser settings. To avoid these I want to develop the above same component in SOAP. Is this possible? If yes How?

Please reply immediately.

<<Less

Re: Can we develop in SOAP an activeX web component

Posted By:   Laurent_Mihalkovic  
Posted On:   Monday, October 28, 2002 01:05 AM