dcsimg
Imaginary token
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Jason_Yip
Posted On:   Monday, August 26, 2002 07:53 AM

I am very new to ANTLR.. to learn it and build my first parser, I started with the SQL grammar.

However I just don't understand what is going on with the imaginary token. I don't know what it does and why I want to use it. For example:

{ #select_list = #([SELECT_LIST, "select_list"], #select_list); }

What does that mean?

What's more, I don't understand why this semantic predicate will make sense:

( update_clause ) => update_clause

There is nothing to be predicted with the update_clause. Can anybody helps me? Thanks!

Re: Imaginary token

Posted By:   Adam_McClure  
Posted On:   Tuesday, September 3, 2002 10:44 AM

You have three questions here:

1. What is an imaginary token?

2. How are tokens used in constructing an AST?

3. How are semantic predicates evaluated?

I'll take a stab at each one briefly in turn.

1) Imaginary tokens are used to annotate an Abstract Syntax Tree with nodes that can be further manipulated by a treewalker or simply used to better understand the output tree. Imaginary nodes are tokens that do not correspond to a matched token from the input stream. They are added by the AST construction code you define in your grammar file. Steal the Swing-based tree viewer code from the Java grammar to literally see how they change the way you see the output tree.

2) Every parser constructs a default AST with one node and lots (!) of children. If you want a more complex tree you need to get involved in constructing the tree yourself. The statement above:

{ #select_list = #(#[SELECT_LIST, "select_list"], #select_list}; }