control child thread from parent thread
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Senthil_Ram
Posted On:   Wednesday, August 7, 2002 09:09 AM

Hi All, I am a newbie to java and thread programming. I am writing up a small thread program for my database to simulate various actions, like insert, update, delete. All i am trying to do is, create several threads, using each thread establish connection to the database and execute the statement. rightnow, i am testing with simple statement (commit) to make sure the thread and other stuff works and it does. Yes, i am using Oracle's connection pool, to create N connections before i create N threads. But the problem i am having is, if i want to create 5 threads which issues a commit what java doing is, sometime it uses only 3 or 4 connections and as soon as the first thread does the job 4th or 5th thread reuses the same conn   More>>

Hi All,

I am a newbie to java and thread programming. I am writing up a small thread program for my database to simulate various actions, like insert, update, delete. All i am trying to do is, create several threads, using each thread establish connection to the database and execute the statement. rightnow, i am testing with simple statement (commit) to make sure the thread and other stuff works and it does. Yes, i am using Oracle's connection pool, to create N connections before i create N threads.

But the problem i am having is, if i want to create 5 threads which issues a commit what java doing is, sometime it uses only 3 or 4 connections and as soon as the first thread does the job 4th or 5th thread reuses the same connection. i dont want that to be happened. if i want to test with 5 threads, then 5 connections has to be created and used by all threads. For this i want to suspend or wait
as soon as each thread acquired connection from the connection pool and look for some flag and it should be controlled by parent thread. If i see all threads ac