dcsimg
Password encryption.
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Dan_Kozin
Posted On:   Thursday, August 1, 2002 11:55 PM

Hello, I am pretty new to security issues, so I am looking for some advice about general strategy and various technologies I should use. I have been asked to redesign the way an older Java Application (applet to DB via JDBC) authenticates passwords. Currently the passwords are being stored openly in the database, which is the first thing I want to change. My manager doesnt want to spend any money on commercial products so I only have to work with Suns JCE library. My manager thinks that something like DES (or triple DES) is enough. Once I encrypt passwords what do I do with the key, do I need to hard code it into an applet code? I want to be able to use it when users log on. Can the JCA generate the same key again?    More>>

Hello, I am pretty new to security issues, so I am looking for some advice about general strategy and various technologies I should use.

I have been asked to redesign the way an older Java Application (applet to DB via JDBC) authenticates passwords. Currently the passwords are being stored openly in the database, which is the first thing I want to change.

My manager doesnt want to spend any money on commercial products so I only have to work with Suns JCE library. My manager thinks that something like DES (or triple DES) is enough. Once I encrypt passwords what do I do with the key, do I need to hard code it into an applet code? I want to be able to use it when users log on. Can the JCA generate the same key again?

how do other applications out there maintain encrypted passwords?

Thank you

Dan

<<Less

Re: Password encryption.

Posted By:   Christopher_Koenigsberg  
Posted On:   Friday, August 2, 2002 07:45 AM