Transform XML to Database
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Ray_Clough
Posted On:   Wednesday, May 15, 2002 04:23 PM

I'm not very experienced with XML, so this may be a question with an obvious answer, but looking thru the forums doesn't answer it. Is there a good solution for taking an XML Document with a schema (or a DTD) and parsing it in such a way that it is safe to automatically create tables and load the XML data into those tables. The other Direction, ie Tables-into-XML is fairly easy. I'm sure this is much harder, if not impossible. I've seen discussion about stuffing the XML into a CLOB or BLOB, but I'm interested in a technique for determining a reasonable data structure from the Schema and implementing that in a Relational DB. Sounds pretty tricky to me. Maybe someone has already written a book on it, but I don't k   More>>

I'm not very experienced with XML, so this may be a question with an obvious answer, but looking thru the forums
doesn't answer it.

Is there a good solution for taking an XML Document with a schema (or a DTD) and parsing it in such a way that it is safe to automatically create tables and load the XML data into those tables. The other Direction, ie Tables-into-XML is fairly easy. I'm sure this is much harder, if not impossible.

I've seen discussion about stuffing the XML into a CLOB or BLOB, but I'm interested in a technique for determining a reasonable data structure from the Schema and implementing that in a Relational DB. Sounds pretty tricky to me. Maybe someone has already written a book on it, but I don't know.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

- Ray Clough

ray.c.clough@boeing.com

<<Less

Re: Transform XML to Database

Posted By:   irfan_mansha  
Posted On:   Monday, May 20, 2002 12:59 AM

If u r using SQL Server 2002 then there is no need to worry.

SQL S2002 automatically creates tables and load xml data inot these tables.