dcsimg
Psychological aspects of working with an IDE
2 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   george_henry
Posted On:   Friday, March 29, 2002 07:21 PM

I am a nearly-brilliant programmer who started his career back in the pre-GUI days. I always felt comfortable and powerful sitting in front of a command-line prompt, knowing how to issue a command that would make the computer do what I wanted. If I needed to supply more information than a simple command and argument, I would type it in. I didn't have to constantly think about all the defaults, and the alternatives that had nothing to do with my needs and concerns. I downloaded the free trial version of JBuilder today and started trying to figure it out. I realized, IDEs are very intimidating to me. (I had the same problem with Visual Basic, but eventually learned the IDE and got used to it.) I can't click on anything withou   More>>

I am a nearly-brilliant programmer who started his career back in the pre-GUI days. I always felt comfortable and powerful sitting in front of a command-line prompt, knowing how to issue a command that would make the computer do what I wanted. If I needed to supply more information than a simple command and argument, I would type it in. I didn't have to constantly think about all the defaults, and the alternatives that had nothing to do with my needs and concerns.

I downloaded the free trial version of JBuilder today and started trying to figure it out. I realized, IDEs are very intimidating to me. (I had the same problem with Visual Basic, but eventually learned the IDE and got used to it.)

I can't click on anything without having multiple options and default settings, folders and filenames fairly spewed in my face - most of which I realize (and I reassure my brain of this to stop it from screaming) is irrelevant to the task at hand.