What defines 'active' for a topic subscription?
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Mike_Squance
Posted On:   Wednesday, January 16, 2002 11:28 AM

The JMS spec says that a non-durable topic subscription only receives messages while it is active. Does active mean that the subscription hasn't been closed, or does it mean that it is calling receive()? Basically what I need to know is that if I have a topic subscriber, can I sit in a while loop calling receive() and expect to get every message published, even if it is published while I'm handling the last message (before I've come back to the receive()). I think that you must be able to do that, or non-durable subscriptions would not be very useful, however I seem to be missing messages and I want to confirm if its a bug in the JMS implementation that I'm using. Thanks, Mike.    More>>

The JMS spec says that a non-durable topic subscription only receives messages while it is active.
Does active mean that the subscription hasn't been closed, or does it mean that it is calling receive()?

Basically what I need to know is that if I have a topic subscriber, can I sit in a while loop calling receive() and expect to get every message published, even if it is published while I'm handling the last message (before I've come back to the receive()).

I think that you must be able to do that, or non-durable subscriptions would not be very useful, however I seem to be missing messages and I want to confirm if its a bug in the JMS implementation that I'm using.

Thanks,
Mike.

<<Less

Re: What defines 'active' for a topic subscription?

Posted By:   Mike_Squance  
Posted On:   Wednesday, January 16, 2002 01:13 PM

I've answered my own question.

A topic subscription is active when the topic connection is started.