Reading from an excel file
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Rich_Kanter
Posted On:   Tuesday, December 4, 2001 02:07 PM

I am new to Java and trying to read from an excel file using the JDBC:ODBC bridge. I have gotten to the point where I can read from the file, but I can not read the first row because it wants it to be headings (which it isn't). The following is the code I am currently trying to mocel after. public void runThisThing(File ExcelFile) throws Exception { Connection connection = null; ResultSet testResultSet = null; PreparedStatement ps = null; int count = 0; Class.forName("sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver"); connection = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:odbc:ExcelDSN","0",""); Statement testStatement = connection.createStatement();    More>>

I am new to Java and trying to read from an excel file using the JDBC:ODBC bridge. I have gotten to the point where I can read from the file, but I can not read the first row because it wants it to be headings (which it isn't). The following is the code I am currently trying to mocel after.
public void runThisThing(File ExcelFile) throws Exception
{
Connection connection = null;
ResultSet testResultSet = null;
PreparedStatement ps = null;

int count = 0;

Class.forName("sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver");

connection = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:odbc:ExcelDSN","0","");

Statement testStatement = connection.createStatement();

String testString = "SELECT * FROM [Sheet1$]";

testResultSet = testStatement.executeQuery(testString);

if (testResultSet != null);
{
while (testResultSet.next())
{
}
}

if (testResultSet != null)
{
testResultSet.close();
testResultSet = null;
}

}
Thank you in advance for your time and efforts.

<<Less

Re: Reading from an excel file

Posted By:   Bernie_Acs  
Posted On:   Wednesday, December 5, 2001 10:13 AM