Trouble incorporating swing on Linux
3 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   gavin_lubbe
Posted On:   Wednesday, May 16, 2001 11:36 AM

I'm running Red Hat 6.2 kernel 2.2.14. I have downloaded and installed j2sdk-1.3.0-RC1-linux-i386.tar.bz2 from Blackdown. I am new to java and have been attempting to learn java using O'Reilly's 'Learning Java'. When I try the examples in the book that seem to be utilising Swing components I get the following error $ javac HelloJava.java HelloJava.java:1: Can''t find type "javax/swing/JComponent" I have tried to find a javax directory without success. When I run the command line version of this example, it compiles and executes successfully, leading me to conclude that either my development environment isn't con   More>>

I'm running Red Hat 6.2 kernel 2.2.14. I have downloaded
and installed j2sdk-1.3.0-RC1-linux-i386.tar.bz2 from
Blackdown. I am new to java and have been attempting
to learn java using O'Reilly's 'Learning Java'. When
I try the examples in the book that seem to be utilising Swing
components I get the following error

$ javac HelloJava.java

HelloJava.java:1: Can''t find type "javax/swing/JComponent"

I have tried to find a javax directory without success.
When I run the command line version of this example,
it compiles and executes successfully, leading me to
conclude that either my development environment isn't
configured correctly ( environment variables ) or
I haven't got the JFC installed.

I apologise if the solution to this problem is obvious,
but I really need a little guidance.

<<Less

Re: Trouble incorporating swing on Linux

Posted By:   Nathan_Meyers  
Posted On:   Wednesday, May 16, 2001 10:21 PM

Perhaps you also have Kaffe installed, and are running
that when you try things from the command line.
See this
FAQ entry
for more detail .

Posted By:   Anonymous  
Posted On:   Wednesday, May 16, 2001 01:35 PM