dcsimg
Opening existing project in eclipse
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   N_Z
Posted On:   Monday, December 15, 2008 12:22 PM

Hi there, I am new to java and to eclipse. I am trying to open an existing project which I got from source control. My project directory is complete and has a .project file in it. I want the workspace to be the directory that the project is currently in. However, when I am opening eclipse, setting the workspace to be the project directory and then trying to import the project I am getting an error of conflicting workspaces. The only way I managed to open the project via eclipse is by creating a different workspace and import the project for the new workspace. Is there a way to open the project as is in eclipse without creating different workspaces (like opening a cproj/sln in   More>>

Hi there,

I am new to java and to eclipse.

I am trying to open an existing project which I got from source control.

My project directory is complete and has a .project file in it.

I want the workspace to be the directory that the project is currently in.

However, when I am opening eclipse, setting the workspace to be the project directory and then trying to import the project I am getting an error of conflicting workspaces.

The only way I managed to open the project via eclipse is by creating a different workspace and import the project for the new workspace.

Is there a way to open the project as is in eclipse without creating different workspaces (like opening a cproj/sln in visual studio)?

Many thanks!!

N

<<Less

Re: Opening existing project in eclipse

Posted By:   Anonymous  
Posted On:   Thursday, January 8, 2009 10:14 AM

You can open an existing project in workspace without creating a new workspace. After you open the workspace in eclipse, the choose File -> New -> Project, choose Java Project or any other project you want to create and give the name of the PROJECT which you already copied in the workspace.