Better understanding JAAS architecture when working with EJBs
0 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Amnon_Grossman
Posted On:   Sunday, May 4, 2008 09:35 AM

Last week I started learning about JAAS and there's something I just can't understand, and I hope I can find some help here. What I want to achieve is a Java client that logs in (using typed username and password, or LDAP) and uses enterprise beans of a J2EE server. The client is to be granted a role, depending on the logged-in user. The beans are of course annotated with @RolesAllowed("role_name"), and role names can be "administrator", "manager", and so on - nothing special. Now, what I understand so far is this: The client instantiates a LoginContext. The LoginContext uses a Configuration (object) to retrieve info from a configuration file, which I should write. This info should include the names of   More>>

Last week I started learning about JAAS and there's something I just can't understand, and I hope I can find some help here. What I want to achieve is a Java client that logs in (using typed username and password, or LDAP) and uses enterprise beans of a J2EE server. The client is to be granted a role, depending on the logged-in user. The beans are of course annotated with @RolesAllowed("role_name"), and role names can be "administrator", "manager", and so on - nothing special.

Now, what I understand so far is this:

The client instantiates a LoginContext. The LoginContext uses a Configuration (object) to retrieve info from a configuration file, which I should write. This info should include the names of all my LoginModules (say I have only one). And finally, my LoginModule should be able to get the login details and authenticate them in login(), and add credentials to the Subject in commit().

What I don't understand, is the following: