Sending a mail with java
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   khaliduddin_shaik
Posted On:   Tuesday, May 29, 2007 09:11 AM

Hi all, I'm new to Javamail concept and i got the following exceptions when i tried to send a simple mail. First exception is : using java Could not connect to SMTP host: smtp.gmail.com, port: 25; Second Exception is : java.net.SocketException: Software caused connection abort: connect i'm using Eudora as my mail client and its working fine. what could be the problem with port. Also, Does a mail client should necessarily exist on the local machine to send mail thru java? My code is like this: import java.util.Properties; import javax.mail.*; import javax.mail.internet.*; public class SendMail {    More>>

Hi all,

I'm new to Javamail concept and i got the following exceptions when i tried to send a simple mail.

First exception is :
using java Could not connect to SMTP host: smtp.gmail.com, port: 25;

Second Exception is :
java.net.SocketException: Software caused connection abort: connect

i'm using Eudora as my mail client and its working fine.
what could be the problem with port.

Also,
Does a mail client should necessarily exist on the local machine to send mail thru java?

My code is like this:

import java.util.Properties;
import javax.mail.*;
import javax.mail.internet.*;

public class SendMail
{
public static void main(String[] args)
{
if(args.length!=3)
{
System.out.println("Usage: SendMail SMTPHost ToAddress FromAddress");
System.exit(1);
}

String smtpHost = args[0];
String to = args[1];
String from = args[2];

Properties props = System.getProperties();
props.put("mail.smtp.host",smtpHost);

try{
Session session = Session.getDefaultInstance(props, null);

MimeMessage message = new MimeMessage(session);
message.setText("Hi from the J2EE in 21 Days authors");
message.setSubject("Hi!");
message.setFrom(new InternetAddress(from));
message.addRecipient(Message.RecipientType.TO, new InternetAddress(to));