Printing an ArrayList into a JTextArea
2 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   chris_hampstead
Posted On:   Thursday, January 4, 2007 12:20 PM

Hi there, I'm pretty new to java, so I'm sorry if i'm making some basic errors. I've created a basic ArrayList (called 'ArrayList1'), which outputs fine, but I now need to output the ArrayList's contents into the TextArea of a GUI I've created. Currently, the GUI is entirely contained within one class and I have 4 other java files which are necessary for the ArrayList. I initially tried the code below (also using import statements for the classes necessary for the ArrayList), which didnt work. textarea1 = new JTextArea(ArrayList1); As I said, if I use the ArrayList in a non GUI environment, everything outputs fine, but I don't really have the knowledge to get the ArrayList into my GUI JTextArea. Any help or   More>>

Hi there, I'm pretty new to java, so I'm sorry if i'm making some basic errors. I've created a basic ArrayList (called 'ArrayList1'), which outputs fine, but I now need to output the ArrayList's contents into the TextArea of a GUI I've created. Currently, the GUI is entirely contained within one class and I have 4 other java files which are necessary for the ArrayList.

I initially tried the code below (also using import statements for the classes necessary for the ArrayList), which didnt work.

textarea1 = new JTextArea(ArrayList1);

As I said, if I use the ArrayList in a non GUI environment, everything outputs fine, but I don't really have the knowledge to get the ArrayList into my GUI JTextArea.
Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated, as I cant seem to get any further right now
thanks, Chris.    <<Less

Re: Printing an ArrayList into a JTextArea

Posted By:   Robert_Lybarger  
Posted On:   Thursday, January 4, 2007 06:14 PM

... also, it might be interesting to see what you meant by "outputs fine in a non-GUI environment" so we can help shed some more light on things.