I'm a beginner in Ajax with JSP and Servlets
3 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Ariel_Romero
Posted On:   Friday, June 2, 2006 03:07 PM

Hi everybody:

I'm a beginner in Ajax world. But the more I looking for information about Ajax with Java the less easy is for me to develop my application.

I need to do a simple example: a jsp page that query the database and show the list of results without refresh the whole page.

Can you help me, please ???
I need help.

Re: I'm a beginner in Ajax with JSP and Servlets

Posted By:   Anonymous  
Posted On:   Tuesday, June 6, 2006 01:07 AM

I need one sample codeing embedded with jsp using Ajax.
please Sir....

Posted By:   Robert_Lybarger  
Posted On:   Saturday, June 3, 2006 10:25 AM

Try these examples.

You will have to download them to your machine... they won't work where they are posted, that's just somewhere to post the files. Note I only tested these on FF on a Mac, but FF on windows should be equivalent. Don't know how well the IE bits will behave.

Posted By:   Robert_Lybarger  
Posted On:   Saturday, June 3, 2006 08:23 AM

Let me suggest you break the problem into a few parts:
  • A JSP page that returns text (or maybe XML, but that's a bit fancier and has a couple more hoops for learning-sake)... this text is a snippet of HTML code that will replace something on the page. You may can explicitly set the return type to "text/plain" here. If you go XML, you'll need "text/xml". Test this works by pointing directly at the JSP page and verifying you get plain text (or XML) but not a standard web page.

• A simplified HTML page with some javascript. For this part, just have a button with an onClick event. When pressed, it calls a function that just adds some HTML code under some existing object. Play around with:
    document.getElementById("some_div_id_here").innerHTML = "

This is a test.

";