dcsimg
Struts usage in a JSP to display a list - new to struts
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Bharat_G
Posted On:   Saturday, February 26, 2005 09:37 AM

Hi, I'm new to Struts and am trying to get the hang of it. Here's what I am trying to do. In my action class: Collection b_list = DM.findAllById(); request.setAttribute("fields1", b_list); Here, DM is a java class and the findAllById method returns an ArrayList. Each item in the array list is lets say of the type: abc(String id, String value) with getId() and getValue() implemented in that class. Now in my JSP: I do not have a form bean asssociated with it. Infact, I do not want to submit any data from this. I simply want to show a drop down menu box with all items from the collection. But I presume I need to create a bean using the object I have add   More>>

Hi,
I'm new to Struts and am trying to get the hang of it.

Here's what I am trying to do.

In my action class:

Collection b_list = DM.findAllById();
request.setAttribute("fields1", b_list);

Here, DM is a java class and the findAllById method returns an ArrayList. Each item in the array list is lets say of the type: abc(String id, String value) with getId() and getValue() implemented in that class.

Now in my JSP:

I do not have a form bean asssociated with it. Infact, I do not want to submit any data from this. I simply want to show a drop down menu box with all items from the collection.

But I presume I need to create a bean using the object I have added to the request object.

So, I'm trying to do this: (i dont know if I need property="id" for html:select tag as I dont want to submit anything.

OR

instead of html:optionsCollections

Is this correct? I cant get it to work. Am I missing something?

I do not want to submit any info from this jsp. My jsp (a popup actually) simply uses a javascript function to update something in the previous JSP.