How do I restrict access to a specific subdirectory within ROOT using basic authentication?
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   sean_divine
Posted On:   Tuesday, May 11, 2004 02:57 AM

I'm fairly new to configuring server.xml and web.xml files. (I'm currently running jakarta-tomcat-4.1.18.) I am trying to require password authentication for access to a subfolder called "update" located within ROOT. I want all files located directly in ROOT to be available without a password. I am having trouble determing the correct path to use for the in the web.xml file in WEB-INF. If I use /* then no pages on the site may be accessed without a password no matter their location. I am presuming that this means I have set up the basic authentication correctly in tomcat-users.xml, server.xml (in conf) and web.xml (in WEB-INF) but that I now simply need to put the correct path into the in web.xml.    More>>

I'm fairly new to configuring server.xml and web.xml files. (I'm currently running jakarta-tomcat-4.1.18.)

I am trying to require password authentication for access to a subfolder called "update" located within ROOT. I want all files located directly in ROOT to be available without a password. I am having trouble determing the correct path to use for the in the web.xml file in WEB-INF.

If I use /* then no pages on the site may be accessed without a password no matter their location. I am presuming that this means I have set up the basic authentication correctly in tomcat-users.xml, server.xml (in conf) and web.xml (in WEB-INF) but that I now simply need to put the correct path into the in web.xml.

However, when I use /update/* , I can access all of the pages within the update folder without being asked for a password. I've experimented with many different paths and have not had luck with any. I have been careful to close my browser and open a new one each time between tests. I've also tried restarting tomcat for every new test. Nothing works.