dcsimg
Total newbie a bit befuddled
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Phil_Lewis
Posted On:   Thursday, May 6, 2004 03:22 AM

I've worked through a couple of JMX tutorials I've come across, and I've managed to make a few Queue instances that I can prod via an agent. What I'm wondering is, how does this stuff work with real applications? When I load my bean into the agent, that creates an instance of the bean. How does my application then make us of that instance? I'm obviously missing something fundamental, here, but I just don't see it. Maybe JMX is not what I want? Basically, I have an application that uses a few internal resources that I want to monitor and manage, but those resources are internal to an application, they are not in any way seperate components. Thanks for any guidance at all on this.    More>>

I've worked through a couple of JMX tutorials I've come across, and I've managed to make a few Queue instances that I can prod via an agent.

What I'm wondering is, how does this stuff work with real applications? When I load my bean into the agent, that creates an instance of the bean. How does my application then make us of that instance?

I'm obviously missing something fundamental, here, but I just don't see it.

Maybe JMX is not what I want? Basically, I have an application that uses a few internal resources that I want to monitor and manage, but those resources are internal to an application, they are not in any way seperate components.

Thanks for any guidance at all on this.

<<Less

Re: Total newbie a bit befuddled

Posted By:   Developer_QuickStart  
Posted On:   Wednesday, May 26, 2004 04:06 PM

Phil,

I hope I answered your question under the thread JMX
developers quickstart guide ... but will do it again here

Let us assume you have a resource, say, a Queue, which
you want to manage thru JMX. In the constructor or the
init routine you will register the resource with the