Is it possible to use Lucene without directory/files?
2 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   tezcan_dilshener
Posted On:   Friday, April 2, 2004 06:15 AM

Hi I am new to Lucene and would like to know 1-) Can I Index entries from a collection, rather than files from a directory? I think the answer to this is, yes. 2-)Can I than execute a search query over this indexed collection rather than files from a directory? If the answer is Yes, can some one tell me how to construct a Search object using the indexed collection rather than the directory, please. If the answer is No, can anyone advise me how I can proceed? This is because we have huge number of Oracle table entries and need to search these entries without having to create text files first. Thanks in a   More>>

Hi

I am new to Lucene and would like to know

1-) Can I Index entries from a collection, rather than files from a directory?

I think the answer to this is, yes.

2-)Can I than execute a search query over this indexed collection rather than files from a directory?

If the answer is Yes, can some one tell me how to construct a Search object using the indexed collection rather than the directory, please.

If the answer is No, can anyone advise me how I can proceed?

This is because we have huge number of Oracle table entries and need to search these entries without having to create text files first.

Thanks in advance

<<Less

Re: Is it possible to use Lucene without directory/files?

Posted By:   Anonymous  
Posted On:   Monday, April 5, 2004 02:35 PM

For indexing purposes, you can index from a database.
You grab each value that you want to index..eg

if sql is "select name, surname, id from person"
And if u have an object that will connect to the DB and return you each value given the key (fieldName like a Hashtable) then...

IndexWriter writer = IndexWriter(indexDir,analyzer,true);
Document d = new Document();
d.add(Field.Text("name",(String)resultRow.get("NAME")));