A wise design for a swing application ?
2 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   Anonymous
Posted On:   Friday, October 3, 2003 12:07 AM

Hello. I'm a cute little Java-developer newbie! :D I'm making an application that's going to have a swing GUI, and some networking functionality. Well.. my problem is that i don't know how to avoid getting tangled in a foolish design with the application. I've got a GUI with many different sections that have different buttons and so on, and because of that, i need a button listener ( ActionListener ) reference that's accessible whereever i add buttons to the JPanel s. Now then, this button listener needs to have references to some other objects that it needs to "command" or use when a certain button is pressed.    More>>

Hello.

I'm a cute little Java-developer newbie! :D

I'm making an application that's going to have a swing GUI, and some networking functionality.

Well.. my problem is that i don't know how to avoid getting
tangled in a foolish design with the application.

I've got a GUI with many different sections that have different buttons and so on, and because of that, i need a button listener ( ActionListener ) reference that's accessible whereever i add buttons to the JPanel s.

Now then, this button listener needs to have references to some other objects that it needs to "command" or use when a certain button is pressed.

So far it has seemed like i need to pass references of some objects "down" to any parts of the GUI that have buttons.. And i get the feeling that there's got to be a better way of doing things :)

a little explanation :

a "Main class" that contains a JFrame that contains JPanel #1 that contains JPanel #2 that contains buttons..