are talking about java is going to be history, and the future is for vb.net and
for C#.

Well my friends, do you think so?

Please help me to prove this claim is false by sending me your objective
opinions?.

Re: What about Java

Posted By:   Aladdin_Mouhaimeed  
Posted On:   Tuesday, April 8, 2003 10:36 AM

I think I got very god answers up until now, thank you everybody.

I hope I have more good answers from the people visiting this forum.

Posted By:   David_Bates  
Posted On:   Tuesday, April 8, 2003 08:19 AM

Doing a Google search will find you websites devoted to this argument. I'm mainly a Java programmer, but I've read a few books on C# and liked it a lot, mainly because once you've done Java (and C++), it's really not that hard to learn.

In my mind, there are a few points to consider:

• Java has been around now for a long time. It is well established as a teaching tool at University. There are lots of freely-available libraries for it and teething difficulties have been delt with. .NET has all this to come....

• Java has the support of many large companies, not least IBM. I can hardly see IBM throwing Java away to go with .NET. As long as there are still big players like IBM using Java, it isn't going anywhere...

• Java and many excellent tools, IDEs, products freely available. I know you can use the .NET compilers without Visual Studio, but I have yet to see a really good, free IDE for C# etc.

• Java is platform-independant. You can get a Java program to run on pretty much any operating system/machine.

It'd be interesting to ask you friends what they think C# has got that Java doesn't. There really isn't anything that Java doesn't cover.

However, I do have to point out that it is my personal belief that the two can co-exist happily, especially now that inter-connectivity and XML are becoming more important.

Posted By:   David_Bates  
Posted On:   Tuesday, April 8, 2003 08:19 AM