reliability problem
1 posts in topic
Flat View  Flat View
TOPIC ACTIONS:

Posted By:   tyris_d
Posted On:   Wednesday, October 30, 2002 02:32 AM

hi all, i have been developping webservices since the last past 7 months, so it's not a "how to" problem. I hope that someone could maybe help in finding some clues. Here is my problem: i have made a webservice, with a java client, and a .NET Server. Interop works fine. The server sends back the result, and if the result is an error, it gives the full error message for explanations. This error message is initialized to " " (empty) and can only retrieve a myError.getMessage(). When i call the webservice, it can work for 5,10 or 20 times, but suddenlty i will get a message "Exception". I mean, not the full message, just a string "Exception". If i call back the webservice with the same dat   More>>

hi all,
i have been developping webservices since the last past 7 months, so it's not a "how to" problem.
I hope that someone could maybe help in finding some clues.
Here is my problem:
i have made a webservice, with a java client, and a .NET Server. Interop works fine. The server sends back the result, and if the result is an error, it gives the full error message for explanations. This error message is initialized to " " (empty) and can only retrieve a myError.getMessage().
When i call the webservice, it can work for 5,10 or 20 times, but suddenlty i will get a message "Exception". I mean, not the full message, just a string "Exception". If i call back the webservice with the same data, i could get again an "Exception" or it could work again for 10 times.
So as you can see, it's not easy to reproduce the bug in order to debug it.
I mean usualy, when it really bugs (like an insert problem in a database etc...), i get a full message like "Unexpected end of file from server" or "Must declare the variable '@EMP_ContactId'". My try/catch deals with this..